Book Review: The Future of Us by Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler

RATING: StarStar

It’s 1996, and less than half of all American high school students have ever used the Internet.

Emma just got her first computer and an America Online CD-ROM.

Josh is her best friend. They power up and log on–and discover themselves on Facebook, fifteen years in the future.

Everybody wonders what their Destiny will be. Josh and Emma are about to find out.

*****

PLAIN.

The Future of Us was a flop for me. I thought the “Facebook” theme would evolve into something more meaningful than it actually is, but it did not. The writing was unimpressive; the female lead was irritating; the love story is kinda all over the place. I hope you are not pining for The Future of Us because it is not worth waiting for.
 
Emma is obnoxious to Josh. She’s selfish and self-centered. I could not find a single thing to like about her! Although she did learned with the Facebook fiasco, her character was underdeveloped for me. Josh – Josh is the sole reason why this book has any stars at all. He knows he’s a wallflower but still he goes for the hottest girl in school. He’s honest to his feelings and he confronted his ‘go-with-the-flow’ attitude. Frankly, Emma doesn’t deserve even a glance from Josh. But hey, at least Josh called out Emma on her callousness with his feelings. Right on, man!
 
The Future of Us is a passable read, meaning you can pass/skip reading this. I read nothing from Mackler; I read 13RW from Asher but I did not detect his writing style and impact in this book.
 

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Imprint: Razorbill

Pub Date: 11/21/2011

Many Thanks to Kai and Precious of Pinoy Book Tours for the chance to read their ARC copy!

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Future of Us by Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler

  1. I have to agree! I thought it was just okay.. A bit too gimmicky with not enough pay off.. I think I gave it a 3 on my own review..

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? [11] « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

