Book Review: Shut Out by Kody Keplinger

Rating: StarStarStar

Most high school sports teams have rivalries with other schools. At Hamilton High, it’s a civil war: the football team versus the soccer team. And for her part, Lissa is sick of it. Her quarterback boyfriend, Randy, is always ditching her to go pick a fight with the soccer team or to prank their locker room. And on three separate occasions Randy’s car has been egged while he and Lissa were inside, making out. She is done competing with a bunch of sweaty boys for her own boyfriend’s attention. 

Lissa decides to end the rivalry once and for all: she and the other players’ girlfriends go on a hookup strike. The boys won’t get any action from them until the football and soccer teams make peace. What they don’t count on is a new sort of rivalry: an impossible girls-against-boys showdown that hinges on who will cave to their libidos first. And Lissa never sees her own sexual tension with the leader of the boys, Cash Sterling, coming.

*****

I’d never felt like this, like I wanted to climb into another person’s skin.

BLUNT.

Shut Out is mediocre compared to Keplinger’s The DUFF, but it still has its own merits. It showcased another round of sex-questioning issues that i found very interesting yet realistic. Truly, this is another book that has a no-holds-barred sex theme that subdues the notion of not FREELY talking about it.

Lissa is a hypocrite when her secret was divulged in the middle of the sex strike. It was irksome, and i cannot understand why she had the idea in the first place. Her OCD is relatable – it calms her when things get out of control. Cash is… endearing. Although i’m skeptic that he’s a flirt and yet doesn’t know anything about dating, he is really likeable. There are those Lissa-Cash moments that are supercharged with electricity! I love Chloe the most, among the characters. She’s funny, feisty, and loyal. Those sex punchlines of hers are so hilarious! Chloe is as real as it gets.

Shut Out is a fun read to fill your time when you just want to have a good time reading. It fell short for me though, so i reread my fave scenes from The Duff after finishing Shut Out. Toinks!

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Shut Out by Kody Keplinger

  1. Shut Out fell short for me as well. I had high hopes it would be as good as The Duff and it just wasn’t. I still adore Keplinger and will read her future books as I think she is awesome. This book just didn’t do it for me. I am glad I am not the only one who feels this way.

      • Yes, quite average. It is sad because I wanted it to be outstanding!!! The Duff had so many quotes I loved and I just couldn’t get enough. I can’t think of one word in the book that I gave me that same over the top feeling. Will you continue to read more of Keplinger’s books?

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

