Book Review: Lorien Legacies #2: The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

RATING: StarStarStarStarStar

(Lorien Legacies #2)

I’ve seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he’s a mystery. But to me . . . he’s one of us.

Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we’ll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I’ve been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.

I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.

And I’m ready to fight.

Book 1: I Am Number Four review

*****

The key to change is letting go of the fear.

RIVETING.

The Power of Six is a big improvement from its prequel, I Am Number Four that really says a lot! Three reasons  why I love it more than IANF: (1) Less somber, more fun; (2) romance from two people not likely to hook up – well, it was unexpected for me; (3) new characters, be it main or secondary, were like fuel adding to a fire – Lorien Legacies has never been this good!

The Power of Six is told in two POVs: one from Seven, searching for the other Garde while stuck in a Spanish monastery; the other from Four, eluding the authorities while figuring out what to do next. I have to say I love Four’s POV more than Seven, maybe because I already knew him, Sam and Six and where they came from (leaving Paradise after the battle)? I dunno. I kinda don’t like Seven, just a little. She let herself be bullied by the other orphans. Of course I get that she cannot be caught using her Legacies, but it wouldn’t hurt her to be discreet so she won’t be bullied, right? I adore Sam! He’s such a happy camper with anything alien (especially with Six, lol). He has much more sense than Four. I got to know Six and how was her life before finding Four. I like her! She’s a force to be reckoned with, whether she’s fighting the Mogadorians or just plain hanging out with the guys. Four – well he did mature and sounded grown up, and he’s still grieving over Henri. I just didn’t like his stubbornness when it comes to Paradise and the life he left behind there. When he decided to be selfish and stood up Six, I was so pissed! I was like, WTH man?! Argh. Yeah, Six. You should’ve kicked his ass and bump his head so he can have a lick of sense.

I found out more about Lorien history and the stories in between are very fascinating. The Power of Six is a fun, enjoyable read. Humorous and action-packed, it will suck you in. You will not stop reading, and you will never want your Lorien adventure to end. Were you bored when you read I Am Number Four? Well then, pick up the sequel and I’m pretty Pittacus Lore will redeem himself to you. Fantastic Sci-fi! And I’m not even a Sci-fi lovin’ chick. 😉

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Lorien Legacies #2: The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

  1. I was really disappointed with the first book, and was going to give up on the series entirely . . . But maybe now I’ll give book two a chance. I think you’ve convinced me. ^^

    • Kayla, IANF was pretty dragging but i still loved it. but The Power of Six is on another level of awesome! Lots of action, and if you’re the action-packed kind of reader, you’ll love this. Thanks for reading!

  2. Pingback: Book Review – The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies Series #2) by Pittacus Lore « Randomize ME

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Lorien Legacies #3: The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: The Fall of Five by Pittacus Lore | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

