Book Review: Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols

Rating: StarStarStarStar

All Meg has ever wanted is to get away. Away from high school. Away from her backwater town. Away from her parents who seem determined to keep her imprisoned in their dead-end lives. But one crazy evening involving a dare and forbidden railroad tracks, she goes way too far…and almost doesn’t make it back.

John made a choice to stay. To enforce the rules. To serve and protect. He has nothing but contempt for what he sees as childish rebellion, and he wants to teach Meg a lesson she won’t soon forget. But Meg pushes him to the limit by questioning everything he learned at the police academy. And when he pushes back, demanding to know why she won’t be tied down, they will drive each other to the edge — and over….

Literary Award: 2010 Romance Writers of America RITA Award Nominee for Best Young Adult Romance

*****

“Well, excuse me for making a rude comment when you had just arrested me!” As Purcell leaned over the table with the coffeepot, I said, “Waiter, this is not the policeman I ordered. I wanted one with a lot less sauce.”

SLOW BURNING.

Going Too Far is an absorbing read, once I got past the first boring chapters. Thank goodness I continued reading because I was rewarded with irrepressible laughs, big soft sighs, and nerve-tingling moments. John After, you’re the MAN!

This is my second Jennifer Echols book and I really liked it. Going Too Far is more serious in content than Forget You and yet I found myself smiling and laughing over its little jabs of humor. A lot of things I don’t understand at the start (and I thought the story is going nowhere) but they were explained and cleared in the most shocking way possible in the end. The result: a story that seemed fickle on the surface but with depth once you dig in.

Meg is rebellious and wild. She has a thing about closed spaces, dark corners and handcuffs. At first, I didn’t like her but when Echols revealed the reasons behind her quirkiness, I fully understood her. I love her sense of humor – a bit over the edge! John is stiff and disciplined. He has a thing about staying in town, and bridges. I love how he balanced Meg’s attitude but I was a little miffed about his bouts of jealousy. John is one hot cop, so that goes to say he’s going to be on my book boyfriend list! I like Will (such a sweetie) and Tiffany (intelligent but naïve). These secondary characters are a good mix thrown with Meg & John’s characters.

Going Too Far is a good, realistic read. Not too dramatic but not too flimsy, either.

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

