Book Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

RATING: StarStarStarStar

(Vampire Academy #1)

St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger. . . .

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

Literary Award: 2008 ALA Teen’s Top Ten

*****

“A ghostly smile flickered across his face. “If you weren’t so psychotic, you’d be fun to hang around.”
“Funny, I feel that way about you too.” He didn’t say anything else, but the smile grew, and he walked away.”

UN-ORDINARY.

I’ve been a skeptic now about vamp books – mainly because they are just too many but (almost always) with the same old story. Vampire Academy (VA) brought out my love for Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance again. The storyline Mead came up with is unique for my taste and is truly, truly delectable.

Rose is very protective of her best friend, Lissa. But that is not what set her apart. Rose is snarky, vindictive, and bold – all traits I thought is very suitable for a heroine within a vampiric book. Her dry wit and sarcastic sense of humor made me stifle a laugh a bunch of times. Her intention to put Lissa first, even before herself, is really what made a mark on her character. Selflessness is scarce nowadays, wouldn’t you agree?

Rose and Dmitri’s romance felt right. No love at first sight. No swooning and pining for Dmitri after their initial meeting. Rose’ feelings gradually rise and strengthen as they spend time during training. Dmitri’s on/off indifference to Rose is believable (they have a 7-year-gap). It saddened me how things turned out for them in the end. But hey, it’s only book 1, so I guess there’s a lot in store for them, right? I will watch their relationship, you bet on that.

I found Lissa weak – she depends on Rose too much. But when the roles are reversed, it is stunning how Lissa turned into the most dangerous Moroi. I super like Christian (such an emo boy) and Mason (poor guy). Natalie – this one is predictable/unpredictable at the same time (this is one wicked character!).

Vampire Academy is not your typical vampire read. I thought the school drama went on for too long, but other than that, VA is one of the vampire series I will read up until the last book. Witty, charming, and electrifying, Vampire Academy will leave you hanging to your seat every time Richelle Mead throws a sneaky curveball at you.

#7 Off-the-Shelf Reading Challenge 2011

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

  1. Nice review 🙂
    I recently finised VA too and I agree with you about Rose. I wasnt really excited at the begining but i kept reading because she was pretty interesting, I didnt like Lissa at all but i enjoyed rose’s overprotectiveness for her.
    It was kinda slow for me but understandable since its only the first book. Im loooking forward to the rest of the series .

  2. when i started the series i was skeptic too but i gave it a chance 😀
    about 4 months ago i finish the last book….the story hold me till the end and i don’t regret any second the fact that i gave it a chance :X

  3. I’m not even into vampires and the only reason I bought the books is because Lissa and I share the same nickname. I devoured all the first four books, and waited impatiently for the last two, buying them on the day of release. I agree with your review in most parts – Lissa IS weaker than Rose, she’s supposed to be in parts. But her story is absolutely fascinating to watch unfold over the whole series.
    You said in the review you didn’t like the school drama, but I found it particularly awesome because I’m not normally an urban fantasy/paranormal romance reader. In my opinion, the school drama made it more accessible and that’s the part I find I like best in the books – the rumours and reputations of high school revisited, I suppose.
    Excellent review!

    • Hi Lissa! I didn’t say i didn’t like the school drama. i just thought it was too long. i enjoyed that, too – since it was the platform where Mead built her story. 🙂 I can’t wait to read the next books! Thanks for reading my review!

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Vampire Academy #3: Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  5. Pingback: Book Review: Vampire Academy #4: Blood Promise by Richelle Mead « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  6. Pingback: Book Review: Vampire Academy #5: Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  7. Pingback: Book Review: Vampire Academy #6: Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

