Book Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Rating: StarStarStarStarStar

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

*****

 FEVER.

 Kody Keplinger fearlessly wrote about something that is almost always cloaked by taboo: teenage sex. Reading about Bianca’s and Wesley’s sexscapades made me feverish! But it didn’t lack the constant reminder of what sex should really be about: a relationship between two people who care enough for each other and mature enough to share this intimacy responsibly.

Bianca is as real as it gets. A broken heart made her smart but cynical and sarcastic. Bianca’s reaction to her problems is totally relatable that I can’t help but think, Yes, I would’ve have done just the same. Escaping the ugly realities of her life by hooking up with the biggest, baddest man-wh*re in her school is just the right drug. But Bianca started to get irritating in the end. After realizing how strongly she felt for Wesley, she is the still the b*tchy, snarky, and rude girl that I met at the start of the book. Ms. Keplinger, it wouldn’t hurt if Bianca showed some gentleness to Wesley when they finally got together – for real.

I can only have lots of love for Wesley Rush! At first, I was kinda hoping that Keplinger wrote also in Wesley’s POV because I wanna know him aside from the jerk that he is. But later I realized it wouldn’t have worked. Reading the DUFF in Bianca’s POV and no one else’s only solidifies Wesley’s one-dimensional character that Bianca hates: his famous wild reputation with girls. But oh, how I love Wesley’s character being flipped on the other side! He was definitely swoon-worthy and (I can’t believe this at first but it’s true) boyfriend-material. Did I mention he is super funny in his own cocky way? 😉 I have lots of laugh-out-loud moments because of his witty remarks and sexy comebacks to Bianca’s cynicism.

I love Bianca’s and Wesley’s story because it is so refreshing and brutally frank! Bianca’s friends Jessica and Casey are commendable characters that shone on their own. I don’t like Bianca’s mom, more so when Bianca easily forgave her after leaving her and her dad.

I found The DUFF unputdownable. The story pretty much embodies the all-too-real facts of teenage life: family letdowns, peer pressure, and the consequence of sex. Let me tell you something Bianca’s mom told her. No matter how far and how often you escape, reality catches up on you, eventually. It did catch Bianca eventually, but when Wesley’s the one doing the catching, she’s on for a happy ending.

Are you a DUFF? I’m sure you are, even once in your life. If yes, then this is your story – so read it.

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

  1. Pingback: Follow Friday [4] « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  2. Pingback: Follow Friday [5] « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  3. The Duff by Kody Keplinger is my new favorite book! I COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN!! it was just so GOOD! when i bought the book, I didnt plan on reading it, ionly bought it to get my rewards card some points:/, but i brought it to camp this weekend and I was bored so I read it in a day and a half! I absolutely loveeeed it!! I relte to this book soo much, Im definitely the Duff of my friends, theyre all skinny and outgoing and really confident in themselves. Thats the opposite of me. I wish I was skinny,outgoing and self confident but idk, its hard.. this book is just soo amazing. ITs stayih om ,u bookshelf. Ill re read this book many times and I cant wait for SHUT OUT!!

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

