Book Review: If I Stay #2: Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Rating: StarStarStarStarStar

(If I Stay #2)

It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

book 1: If I Stay review

*****

“You know, I thought about that a lot these last couple of years,” She says in a choked voice. “About who was there for you. Who held your hand while you grieved for all that you’d lost?”

REDEMPTION.

Oh, you’re good, Ms. Forman. I’d give you that. Have you read my review on If I Stay? If yes, then i will tell you right now that you’re gonna make me eat that review. word for word.

If I Stay is not gonna work as a stand-alone, so it’s a good thing that Where She Went came out. If I Stay series is one of the most emotional and thought-provoking I’ve read. Suffice it to say that it now ranks as one of favorites.

It is now Adam’s POV and i really liked that. The author’s writing style captivated me from page 1, to chapter 2, and so on. I loved the snippets of lyrics at the start of every other chapter. It captured Adam’s emotions perfectly. The alternating stories narrated between one chapter to another (one deals with Adam’s present life, the next one deals with his memories of Mia) is very effective. The holes in If I Stay were filled out by his narrative and I’m super satisfied.

Everything Adam felt, I felt. Loss. Anger. Bitterness. Despair. Hopelessness. I was there with him, cursing whatever it is that made his life a living hell. Halfway through the book, it’s official: I HATE MIA.

“I needed to hate someone and you’re the one I love the most, so it fell on you.”

Then Mia’s New York tour for Adam began. I was hopeful and disappointed at the same time. Did she want him back? Or Is it just for old time’s sake? I, for one, believed that this book won’t have the happy ending that I desperately craved since book 1 ended.

So how did it end?… Imagine me smiling slowly, then grinning widely while lovingly clutching the book close to my heart. 🙂

Mia & Adam’s love being just average? I take that back. willingly and obligingly. What they’ve gone through was brutal, hateful, and unforgivable. How the author managed to sneaked in the happy ending is beyond me. It is truly epic.

But I’d do it again. I know that now. I’d make that promise a thousand times over and lose her a thousand times over to have heard her play last night or to see her in the morning sunlight. Or even without that. Just to know that she’s somewhere out there. Alive.

The VERDICT: One of the best love stories there is. and i’m not talking about high school romance.

Hate me. Devastate me. Annihilate me. Re-create me. Re-create me. Won’t you, won’t you won’t you re-create me. ~ Animate (Track 1)

#4 Off-the-Shelf Reading Challenge 2011

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

