Book Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Rating: StarStarStar

(If I Stay #1)

In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeenyear- old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she fi nds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck…

A sophisticated, layered, and heartachingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make – and the ultimate choice Mia commands.

*****

I realize now that dying is easy. Living is hard.

I was ready for a major meltdown. But no… it didn’t move me like i expect it would. Don’t get me wrong, because it has a beautiful story (and dramatic one at that). It really is tragic but I only have one tearjerker moment with this book, and it is not between Mia & Adam.

If I Stay started out with the author painting Mia’s happy family, then got destroyed in one quick car crash. I was not familiar with the style of writing (Mia jumping from one memory to another), but it got easy along the way. Mia recalling these memories (while lingering along the hospital where she lays) unconsciously factors whether there is something still worth living for, or maybe, she can just leave it all behind.

I was touched with her relationship with Teddy, it was heartbreaking. The first and last time my chest constricted and tears threatened to fall – her Gramps telling her to go on. I closed the book and I don’t want to read anymore, because the emotions on that moment is just too much to bear. 😦

“It’s okay,’ he tells me. ‘If you want to go. Everyone wants you to stay. I want you to stay more than I’ve ever wanted anything in my life.’ His voice cracks with emotion. He stops, clears his throat, takes a breath, and continues. ‘But that’s what I want and I could see why it might not be what you want. So I just wanted to tell you that I understand if you go. It’s okay if you have to leave us. It’s okay if you want to stop fighting.’

I love her parents, her mom in particular. She sounded so flawed, yet so cool for my taste. I admire Kim – she is the true embodiment of a best friend. I laughed when Mia was telling how she and Kim got into a fistfight before being friends.

Adam – i have to say that my heart didn’t really jumped up for him. Oh, he’s adorable alright. And it broke my heart how much Adam is willing to give up for Mia just to make her stay. But the romance between him and Mia just seemed average to me.

Family-wise, i love If I Stay. Romance-wise, it’s just ok for me.

#3 Off-the-Shelf Reading Challenge 2011

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

2 thoughts on “Book Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? [6] « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  2. Pingback: Book Review: If I Stay #2: Where She Went by Gayle Forman « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

