Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Rating: StarStarStarStar

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited?

*****

So what do I wish for? Something I’m not sure I want? Someone I’m not sure I need? Or someone I know I can’t have?

Can someone please wipe this silly smile off on my face?!!

Anna & St. Clair swept me off my feet. Who wouldn’t fall in love when in Paris? This is such a feel-good story!

I love Anna’s character. afraid of being away from home. Rejection. Being alone. but a quick loss of inhibition (meaning drunk) gave her the boost to confront what is already in front of her. From there, she adapted, accepted and found out that maybe being in the sidelines doesn’t suit her anymore. Heads up, Etienne!

I love St. Clair’s character as much as I love Anna’s. Charming. Funny. Dependable. Much of the reason I came to enjoy this book is because of him. His being afraid of change, not making a move earlier, not standing up for himself (against his dad) – all these traits made him the perfect IMperfect boy worthy of admiration (and swoon, of course). P.S. I love the name of St. Clair more than Etienne. St. Clair is rock-star cooler and sexier.

I liked the secondary characters, too. Meredith (poor girl, such unrequited love), Josh (i really like him! cool & funny), Rashmi (detached but cared too much), even Nate! They made the relationship between Anna & St. Clair lively, electric, and unpredictable.

I just wished that something happened during Thanksgiving and Anna & St. Clair’s romantic relationship started there. I felt a year of near-misses is such a long time for me to wait. Eventually, it gave me a short time to fully gushed and drooled over them once they are finally together.

Nevertheless, Anna & the French Kiss is the kind of story about instant attraction turned friendship turned (maybe) something more that i will less likely to forget anytime soon. It is a good read, so pick it up already!

I love you as certain dark things are loved, secretly, between the shadow and the soul.

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

One thought on “Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Pingback: TGIF [3] « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

