Book Review: Perfect Chemistry #2: Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles

Rating: StarStarStarStarStar

When Carlos Fuentes returns to America after living in Mexico for a year, he doesn’t want any part of the life his older brother, Alex, has laid out for him at a high school in Colorado . Carlos likes living his life on the edge and wants to carve his own path—just like Alex did. Then he meets Kiara Westford. She doesn’t talk much and is completely intimidated by Carlos’ wild ways. As they get to know one another, Carlos assumes Kiara thinks she’s too good for him, and refuses to admit that she might be getting to him. But he soon realizes that being himself is exactly what Kiara needs right now.

See Perfect Chemistry review here.

 *****

K,

The lady at the store said yellow means friendship and red means love. The rosary is the only thing I own that has value to me. It’s yours. I’m yours.

C

I admit I’m doubtful that Elkeles can come up with another great story after Perfect Chemistry, boy I was so wrong!

I started reading at 11pm last night, pushed myself to sleep at 2am, got 2 hours of sleep, took a bath to go to work, then read again while on board the bus. 15 minutes on the work shift, i finished Rules of Attraction. Oh yes, it’s that good!

I can’t help but compare this to Perfect Chemistry, compare Carlos to Alex, then Kiara to Brittany – and i have to say, I like the first book more. but only by an inch. 🙂

Carlos is a younger version of bad-ass, wise-crackin’ Alex. I actually don’t like him on the firts few chapters. Eventually, Carlos grew on me. No, wait. That can’t be right. Carlos won me over. It really is a sight to see a tough, dangerous boy unwillingly cracks his defenses to show his soft, gentle side to those whom he loves. Carlos, you might be amazing and wickedly hot, but Alex still holds my heart. 😉

Kiara is just an ok character for me, she seldoms stood out on the book. I like her attitude during their ‘under the dome’ scene. And when she’s flipping off Carlos! not just once. But she’s only confident when she’s alone with Carlos, and i would’ve like her more if she exuded self-confidence to others as a result of her relationship with Carlos. That way, her stuttering might’ve been eliminated completely and build her confidence on a higher level.

So i guess that pretty much says that Carlos’ character carried the story a lot. I love Tuck – he’s funny especially when he made the ‘cursing’ remark to Carlos. lol. and I love Kiara’s dad, too good to be true but not at all impossible in real life. i enjoyed his banter with Carlos.

Even though the ‘falling in love’ phase of Carlos to Kiara and vice versa seemed a little bit rushed or should i say a little bit hard to believe (they barely spent time together but Carlos is already always thinking about Kiara), reading their story still turned my heart into jelly. *sigh*

Want to fall dangerously in love? try Rules of Attraction. I guarantee you, Carlos will make you laugh, curse and love him in a heartbeat.

I am SO ready for CHAIN REACTION!

“You’re dangerous.” he says.
Why?”
Because you make me believe in the impossible.”

#1 Off-the-Shelf challenge 2011

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Perfect Chemistry #2: Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles

  1. I was really worried that maybe this book wouldn’t match up to Perfect Chemistry, but boy, it was awesome! 😀 I loved how the incorrigible bad boy fell for the shy girl, who proved to have a strong aspect to her personality too. Can’t wait for the third book!!

  2. Pingback: TGIF [3] « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  3. Pingback: Follow Friday [5] « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Perfect Chemistry #3: Chain Reaction by Simone Elkeles « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

