Book Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

ignitemeStarStar

Young Adult > Dystopia | Paranormal

(Shatter Me #3)

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew-about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam-was wrong.

Book 1: Shatter Me review       Book 2: Unravel Me review

x-x-x

3 books later, I only realized that this is more romance than dystopian (silly me :/). But I am soo glad I am done with Juliette’s idiotic, dramatic tendencies.

Warner? It was nice meeting you. *winks*

Is it too early to declare that Ignite Me is the worst finale for this year? Seriously, it came this close to usurping Allegiant in my list. Tahereh Mafi , what have you done with this series? With Adam? I’m not even Team Adam and yet I despised how his character was massacred utterly and complete in order to give way to the other obvious ending. /wrist

To hell with Juliette. To hell with the abysmal plot. I read this series for Warner, and even that was slightly ruined for me.

Remember Juliette who was whiny and wimpy in Shatter Me? She was all over Adam then. But in Ignite Me, wow. She’s giving him the coldest of the cold shoulder that I have ever seen. Where’s the love, girl? She was panting for Adam in the first book and yet, and yet,

I don’t even know what this is, Kenji. That’s the problem. I don’t know how to explain it, and I’m not sure I understand the depth of it yet. All I know is that whatever this is, I never felt it with Adam.

Adam is a good guy. He really is. But just because he’s a good guy doesn’t make him the right guy for me.

She keeps on saying it’s over between them, but every time he’s not around, she keeps looking for him, and asking Kenji, “where is he? is he okay?” You are selfish, Juliette! Just cut your ties with Adam, damn it. You can’t have Warner, and keep Adam as a friend on a leash. You want everyone to love you, care for you, but that’s just BS. *shouting maniacally* You don’t deserve Warner or Adam, not even Kenji! Fool.

Not that Adam’s character is any better. But I pity him. The way Tahereh Mafi reduced his character to this illogical, irrational, super-mad love-sick puppy was despicable. Way to go, TM. There was not a shred of that Adam from Shatter Me. Not one bit. And he didn’t even showcase his power during the battle. Pathetic turn of events for him who I thought was pegged as the hero.

No – I wanted you. That’s all I wanted. From the very beginning, Juliette. You were it. You were all I wanted.

I love Warner, period. I don’t need Tahereh Mafi  to make all these flimsy excuses on his character. He’s a stronger character if he’s just this unrepentant psychopath. Why, oh why, did Tahereh Mafi  felt to justify all his cruel past actions?!! He did unspeakable acts, just leave it be! It was so obvious that Warner was being set up as this torturous hero, when really, he did all those things, because he needed to survived. And didn’t Adam have a hard life, too? So why is Warner’s character be any different?

Kenji is the most decent, (and James, too). How come Juliette did not end up with him? His character is so energetic and more lovable than Adam and Warner combined. And he truly knows Juliette. Not Adam. Not Warner. It is Kenji who understood that sorry excuse of a heroine.

Ending was surprise! – so ridiculous. Juliette, stepping up as a leader for Anderson’s army? Puh-lease. She cannot even handle two guys without hurting them, she’s still as messed up, and I am expected to believe that she can sustain the revolution. Let me repeat: ridiculous!

Ignite Me? No, thank you. I am ready to forget this series, fuck you very much.

(My copies of Shatter Me and Unravel Me are now for sale. LOL)

x-x-x

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Kindle Edition, 352 pages

Published February 4th 2014 by HarperCollins
..
2/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. I tried reading shatter me and didn’t get past page 5 thanks to the annoying narrative, which some people call creative- aka every other line struck out. And also the awful analogies worthy of Cassandra Clare’s writing. I think in the first five pages, Juliette compared herself to a raindrop on her window about 3 times and I nearly fell asleep haha! Can’t say I regret not carrying on with the series.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

