Book Review: Lord of the Flies by William Golding

Rating: StarStar

Genre: Classics | Literature > Young Adult > Dystopia

At first, the stranded boys cooperate, attempting to gather food, make shelters, and maintain signal fires. Overseeing their efforts are Ralph, “the boy with fair hair,” and Piggy, Ralph’s chubby, wisdom-dispensing sidekick whose thick spectacles come in handy for lighting fires. Although Ralph tries to impose order and delegate responsibility, there are many in their number who would rather swim, play, or hunt the island’s wild pig population. Soon Ralph’s rules are being ignored or challenged outright. His fiercest antagonist is Jack, the redheaded leader of the pig hunters, who manages to lure away many of the boys to join his band of painted savages. The situation deteriorates as the trappings of civilization continue to fall away, until Ralph discovers that instead of being hunters, he and Piggy have become the hunted.

Literary Award: Modern Library 100 Best Novels

*****

Hmmm. Yeah… I didn’t like this. Apart from Roger and his psychotic skills (i think he’s more dangerous than Jack), Lord of the Flies did not appeal to me as much as I wanted it to. But it was a quick read. I’ve been flipping through my Kindle without noticing my progress.

It took me a while to finish Lord of the Flies. Out of sight, out of mind. When I’m reading it, I’m fixated. But when I put it down, I don’t want to pick it up again.

They say this book is all about symbolism or analogy. Well… I am lost on that. But that would explain why I did not get half the time what was going on. I need to backread a few times to digest a specific scene or character.

Perhaps I would’ve enjoyed it more if Roger’s POV was explored more. Hee! Poor Piggy. I think he was much a stronger character than Ralph.

Case in point: despite the terror, it was still somewhat boring.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Lord of the Flies by William Golding

  1. This was a required reading during my Lit class in college. Come to think of it, I wasn’t able to read a page of the book, just lifted off the summary from the internet, and copied my groupmates’ work. Haha! SSSSHHHH…. BUT… I’m curious about this book this time. Maybe one day, I can find a cheap copy and read. :)

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

