Book Review: The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

Rating: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Horror | Fantasy

(The Monstrumologist #1)

These are the secrets I have kept. This is the trust I never betrayed. But he is dead now and has been for nearly ninety years, the one who gave me his trust, the one for whom I kept these secrets. The one who saved me . . . and the one who cursed me.

So starts the diary of Will Henry, orphan and assistant to a doctor with a most unusual specialty: monster hunting. In the short time he has lived with the doctor, Will has grown accustomed to his late night callers and dangerous business. But when one visitor comes with the body of a young girl and the monster that was eating her, Will’s world is about to change forever. The doctor has discovered a baby Anthropophagus—a headless monster that feeds through a mouth in its chest—and it signals a growing number of Anthropophagi. Now, Will and the doctor must face the horror threatening to overtake and consume our world before it is too late.

Literary Awards: Printz Honor (2010), Michigan Library Association Thumbs Up! Award Nominee (2010), Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Finalist (ALAN/NCTE) (2010), Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2013)

*****

I am not an easy person to scare. I like horror books; more so on movies. The Monstrumologist is not that really scary to begin with, but with the overall creepiness of the story, it gave me this horrific effect that i should be scared of monsters. real, eat-you-alive-in-the-grossest-way-possible monsters. Mr. Yancey, I was afraid of the Anthropophagi, not because of the monstrosity, but because of the cunning and intellect that came with that monstrosity.*shudders*

Will Henry‘s life was not easy. Watching your parents burn to death is not something short of a nightmare. Then, you spend your life with a man whose eccentricity and brilliance shuns everybody around you. including you. not to mention your services are indispensable to this (sometimes) crazy scientist. your services, not you.

I like Yancey’s writing. With a story so unique, his characters and monsters became vibrant through his easy storytelling.

Kearnes is my favorite character! His madness is infectious. Oh, he has faults, yes, but i can’t help but admire him. he’s a formidable hunter, but as a person? Ha! Better ask Will Henry. or Dr. Warthrop for a more definitive response. Also, the Sanitorium scenes are alive! Sanitorium: that one place that i’m the scariest. :)

If you are into horror and gore, you’re gonna love The Monstrumologist. Monsters both literal and psychological, you will find it here. To those who have read this: whose life is sadder, Will Henry’s or Dr. Warthrop’s?

Full of fascinating lore and heart-buckling scenarios, Will Henry will make your nights worthwhile. Read this at night time! it adds to the suspense. *winks*

Monsters are real. That’s a fact. =)

Check out these other reviews:

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

  1. Hi! I’ve had this on my wish list for a while now just to challenge myself because unlike you, I am not a fan of horror movies and I haven’t tried anything of the sort in books. :) I have had success with Printz awardees so I thought this book will be a good 1st choice to rid me of my cowardice. :D

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Curse of the Wendigo by Rick Yancey | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

