Book Review: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

RATING: StarStarStar

Genre: Sciene Fiction > Humor

Challenge: Goodreads – The Filipino Group 100 Favorite Books (March read)

(Hitchhiker’s Guide #1)

Don’t panic! Too late…

Arthur Dent is already having a really bad day, even before Earth gets demolished to make way for a new hyperspace bypass. After that things get much worse.

With just a towel, a small yellow fish and a book, he has to navigate through a very hostile universe in the company of a gang of unreliable alien oddballs. Luckily the fish is quite good at languages. And the book isThe Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

*****

I expected to have buckets of laughs. But it didn’t happen. A smile here. A chuckle there. Contrary to its tagline, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is not very, very funny to me. They say perhaps I do not appreciate British humor. I say I do not appreciate Adams’ humor. Being British is irrelevant.

I cannot comprehend the constant babble on alien-y stuff. Instead of enlightenment, the snippets from the Hitchhiker’s Guide only brought more confusion on alien terms or people. I couldn’t care less on the story. Gah.

There are two scenes I like: (1) The Improbability Drive/spaceship they were in is going to crash to Magrathea, and (2) The exchange of insults when the Police caught up with them in Magrathea. I like Eddie the computer, too.

Some of my GR friends really liked The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy but it was just okay for me.

  

10 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

  1. Haha! This was my first reaction while reading the first few pages. I was shocked and lost with big geeky terms, but I got the humor on the later parts naman :)

  2. I think his writing style, humor, & all really only appeals to certain people. I mean, I liked this book, and found it funny, but I know tons of people who either loved it or hated it. Seems like the kind of thing that’s stuck on the extremes.

  3. Pingback: Feature & Follow Friday [7] | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  4. Pingback: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy | One More Page

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

