Book Review: Lumatere Chronicles #2: Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta

RATING: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Fantasy

(Lumatere Chronicles #2)

Three years after the curse on Lumatere was lifted, Froi has found his home . . . or so he believes. Fiercely loyal to the Queen and Finnikin, Froi has been taken roughly and lovingly in hand by the Guard sworn to protect the royal family, and has learned to control his quick temper with a warrior’s discipline. But when he is sent on a secretive mission to the kingdom of Charyn, nothing could have prepared him for what he finds in its surreal royal court. Soon he must unravel both the dark bonds of kinship and the mysteries of a half-mad princess in this barren and mysterious place. It is in Charyn that he will discover there is a song sleeping in his blood . . . and though Froi would rather not, the time has come to listen.

Book 1 : Finnikin of the Rock review

*****

UNSTOPPABLE.

Halfway through Froi of the Exiles, I was sure it will be the first book I will rate 5 stars this 2012. Finishing it… well, I was hesitant. The ending left me with questions. Questions that should’ve been answered already. I felt there was no need for a cliffhanger ending because I would still anticipate the next book, knowing how awesome Froi’s story was. Still, Marchetta wrote so enchantingly that I have no doubt Lumatere Chronicles will become a legend among the YA fantasy shelf.

First few pages in and I can feel Froi’s character so strongly! I was smiling, laughing, and realizing how much I missed the characters from Finnikin of the Rock. I devoured every page, more so when I finally came into his scenes with Quintana. Quintana is unlike any character I’ve ever read! Marchetta built a character so brilliant that I loved Quintana from beginning to end (her unflinching dark past included). Froi’s and Quintana’s personality are both tough and resilient, but in a strange way they do not overpower each other. They complement each other that eventually their relationship flowed into one solid, unbreakable bond. Every scene is charged with electricity. Be it sweet or savage, it hooked me down to my seat. Their relationship was so different from Finnikin and Evanjalin, but it was riveting nonetheless. The new characters are very distinct in their roles. Among them, I loved Arjuro the most. Such a filthy mouth for an old priestling. Ha! But he’s sensible and touching beneath the grunts and growls.

There are lots of POVs and intertwining stories that I sometimes got confused and irritated. Froi. Finnikin. Lucian. Phaedra. I can only take one love story at a time, thank you very much! But I still love you, Finn. =)

If you enjoyed Finnikin of the Rock, you will consume Froi of the Exiles with equal fervor. The world of Charyn is gruesomely charming. Froi’s past and present allured me. But his future? Let’s find out on the next book, Quintana of Charyn. October 2012, hurry up!

 

Publisher: Candlewick Press

Imprint:

Pub Date: 03/13/2012

Thank you NetGalley and Candlewick Press for granting my galley request.

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

One thought on “Book Review: Lumatere Chronicles #2: Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Lumatere Chronicles #3: Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

