Book Review: Delirium #2: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

RATING: StarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Dystopia

(Delirium #2)

I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare, 
pushing aside thoughts of Alex, 
pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school, 
push, 
push, 
push, 
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

The old Lena is dead. The old Lena remains with Alex in Portland, Maine, behind a wall of smoke and flame, but the new Lena was born in the Wilds, transformed by hardship, deprivation, and loss.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena fights for a world in which love will no longer be considered a dangerous disease. Her inner life is as turbulent as the world around her. . . . Although consumed with grief for Alex, might she be falling in love with someone else?

Book 1: Delirium review

*****

I believe this is the first time in which I am delighted for such a cliffhanger ending! I tell you, the ending made my day, truly! and without a doubt, Oliver writes beautifully. But Pandemonium was a bit dragging on the first half. Things picked up on the second half but it is still not enough. Unfortunately for me, Alex being a flimsy shadow in this book is a blow I found so hard to take.

Lena has grown to be a warrior, courtesy of the harshness of the Wilds. She became hardened by her uncomfortable new life and hateful by Alex’s demise. It was not the life she intended to live when she ran to the Wilds. It was a good thing that Oliver did not shelter Lena’s character too much. She developed Lena dramatically. Lena has to make the toughest decisions in order to survive. The one thing I did not like: Lena succumbed early to grief without assessing the facts. Is it less painful for her to accept that Alex is gone than finding a way to know what really happened to him?

I think the concept of DFA is unnecessary. The dystopian element is not as direct as I expect it would be. It is more like delving with the effects of a society hell-bent on maintaining order despite the impending chaos.

Pandemonium is very far from Delirium’s delivery. It is not a personal favorite but I urge Delirium fans to read it still. I am a fan of Alex so naturally, I am resentful of this sequel.  Requiem will decide whether I will love this series or not. So Ms. Oliver, I am sincerely hoping you do not disappoint me for I am majorly invested emotionally with your series. By the way, that ending: I freakin’ love it! Serves you right, Lena. *snickers*

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Delirium #2: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

  1. Oh, now I’m DYING to know about this ending! I’m glad that Lena gets fleshed out and further developed in this book. While I liked her in Delirium, I found her to be a bit “oh woe is me” about stuff. I hate what happened to Alex but feel like it was a little vague… so that MAYBE he could appear in later books. Or maybe that’s just my hope! Great review; can’t wait to read!

  2. Pingback: COVERed: Requiem, Fragments, Boundless « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? [21] | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Delirium #3: Requiem by Lauren Oliver | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

