Book Review: Matched #2: Crossed by Ally Condie

RATING: StarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Dystopia

(Matched #2)

In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky – taken by the Society to his certain death – only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.

Cassia’s quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander – who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia’s heart – change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.

Book 1: Matched review

*****

Well, at least Crossed has some action more than Matched. and I adored Ky’s POV. But in the end, I was left wanting more, and more… like i was back where Condie left me in Matched: i was hanging. still hanging. No, i think the right word is dangling.

I admire Cassia for staying true to her promise of finding Ky. But i thought: is it really Ky she’s after, or is it really the rebellion that somehow depicts Ky? Cassia’s character developed a little, but she did raise some questions that she would’ve never thought of asking when she was part of the Society. Ky… man, i so love this guy! A tortured survivor who’s willing to throw everything he believed in (all his life) just to save Cassia. He was somber most times, but it did not bother me because that is what i pictured him to be from the first book. He’s resourceful, street smart, and sharp. Crossed was ok for me because of him.

I did not expect much from Crossed and with that in mind, i was just a tad disappointed. I was also confused on how Cassia ended up in one of the camps. Didn’t she run so she can be free? Oh well. I like it enough for the romance (i am such a sucker for this), but the dystopian element is nowhere near where it should be: better and more solid than what Matched delivered.

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Matched #2: Crossed by Ally Condie

  1. I agree with you that Crossed left me a bit wanting. It was like the book went on and on and on and nothing really happened. What I did like about it was that it developed Ky a little more and gave him so much more depth. I was not a fan of him in Matched; I thought he was kind of a wet blanket, too sensitive for my tastes. But after reading Crossed I realized that I probably thought this because all I got to see of him was what Cassia thought. Getting to know Ky more was the best part of this book for me… but like you, I was left dangling and ready for what I hope will be a huge finale book with its sequel!

  2. I completely agree with you. Dangling is a good word for it! Crossed was slow as molasses for me. Hopefully the last book will make up for the middle installment.

  3. Though it makes me sad that this one doesn’t seem to be as good as the first, I’m glad I read this review. I think maybe I won’t be too disappointed if I don’t have high expectations to begin with.

    • Laura, this is different from Matched and perhaps it could’ve been better than Matched if Condie didn’t left me with more questions. Try it and lemme know what you think. thanks!

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Matched #3: Reached by Ally Condie « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

